Twitter  Linkedin
Guidelines Committee | Email Committee

Committee Chair:

Ian Mitchell MD, Guidelines Committee chair Ian Mitchell MD

The Guidelines Committee is responsible for developing and disseminating evidence-based information related to pediatric trauma care for the purpose of increasing the scientific knowledge needed to enhance patient care and promote optimal clinical decision-making. Goals of the committee include but are not limited to the following:

  • Develops pediatric specific evidence-based guidelines or consensus statement
  • Reviews specific evidence-based guidelines for relevance to the pediatric population
  • Updates existing evidence-based guidelines based on new clinical information
  • Disseminates evidence-based guidelines used by other institutions/organizations

Committee Goals: to develop and disseminate evidence-based information related to pediatric trauma care in order to improve health outcomes.

Five working groups

  1. Venous Thromboembolism Prophylaxis Guideline (LEAD: John Petty)
  2. Child Abuse/Non-Accidental Trauma Screening Guidelines (LEAD: Tony Escobar)
  3. Trauma Transfer Criteria from Community Hospitals to Level One Trauma Centers (LEAD: Matthew Santore)
  4. Severe Hemorrhage - Massive Transfusion/Coagulopathy Treatment Guideline (LEAD: Adam Vogel)
  5. Renal Injury Management Guideline (LEAD: John Draus)

Guidelines in Focus: work to identify guidelines developed by other organizations and share/contextualize for pediatric trauma providers.

Sharing of local clinical pathways/best practices.

Guidelines Committee - Recent Accomplishments

  • VTE Guideline
    Published in JTACS 2017

  • Tourniquet Usage in Pediatric Trauma Patients (position statement)
    Mubeen Jafri (lead), Aaron Cunnigham, Mark Cicero, Marc Auerbach
    Future directions: being evaluated by ACS COT for possible endorsement, exploring collaboration with stop the bleed group

  • Non Accidental Trauma (review article)
    Mauricio A. Escobar; Katherine T. Flynn-O'Brien; Marc Auerbach; Gunjan Tiyyagura; Matthew A. Borgman; Susan J. Duffy; Kelly S. Falcone; Rita V. Burke; John M. Cox; Sabine A. Maguire

  • Guidelines in Focus - Concussions
    Byron D. Hughes MD, MPH, Nathaniel Kreykes, MD, Rosemary Nabaweesi, DrPH, Shannon Longshore, MD, Eric Sribnick, MD, John Petty, MD
    (completed- cervical spine, femur fracture, blunt liver/spleen injury)

Guidelines Committee work in progress

  • Non Accidental Trauma - Renal Trauma
    John Draus (lead), Jonathan Ellison, Judith Hagedorn, Robert Russell, Cordelie Witt, Kristen Zeller
    EAST Collaborator: Nicole Fox
    Submitted to J Trauma for blinded review and presented by Judith Hagedorn at EAST meeting

  • Trauma Transfer:
    Matt Santore (lead), Katie Russell, Steve Fenton, Erik Pearson, Mubeen Jafri, Johnathan Kohler, Nathan Polite, Lucas Neff
    EAST Collaborators: Dr. Como, TBD
    PICO questions formulated, completed literature review
    Timeline: by 11.2018 review papers and abstraction, present update at PTS meeting

  • Massive Transfusion/Trauma Induced Coagulopathy:
    Adam Vogel (lead), Ash Gosain, Robert Russell, Matthew Bogrman, Nathan Chirstopherson, Chris Streck, Regan Williams, Robert Finkelstein, Arash Maharjerin, Mark Collum, Karen Gibbs
    EAST collaborators: Bryce Robinson, Chris Dogion
    PICO questions have formulated, literature search completed
    Timeline: complete abstract review 5/1/2018, complete paper review/abstraction 7/1/2018, review the evidence and formulate recommendations 9/1/2018, manuscript/presentation 11/2018

  • Skeletal Fractures/Non-accidental Trauma:
    Ian Mitchell (lead), Tony Esobar, Marc Auerbach, Todd Nickoles, Colleen Bressler, Katy Flynn O'Brien, Sabine Maguire, Brad Norat
    EAST collaborators: Nicole Fox, TBD
    Working on collaboration with Helfer, AAP, ACEP
    Timeline: completed three scoping search, dissemination of papers 5/2018, collate results 10/2018, meet pre-PTS x 1 day for final in person formulation of recommendations.